Skip to main content

NEUTROGENA® Clear & Defend Facial Wash

NEUTROGENA® Clear & Defend Facial Wash

NEUTROGENA® Clear & Defend Facial Wash is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 122.
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_121
  • loc_en_GB, sid_6386, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_neutrogena-eu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 24.33ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver I wasn’t expecting this product to be amazing, but I can honestly say that after 1 week of using it I have seen a big improvement. It makes my skin feel so clean and works wonders on blackheads! I have sensitive skin and have not experienced any problems with this product, the only downfall is that it’s a little drying but nothing moisturiser can’t fix.
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty decent! I had anticipated this wash to be a little too harsh for my dry skin as it contains salicylic acid which is great for spots but not so great for people with dry skin. I was also sceptical as the instructions said to use twice a day: thus I assumed would be far too much for me. I was very pleasantly surprised! The wash is nice and gentle and not at all drying. Your skin is left feeling super smooth and very clean, perfect for avoiding blemishes. I don't have particularly blemish prone skin unless it's hormonal so I didn't notice a huge difference in terms of frequency of spots but I really loved the way it left my skin feeling and looking; soft and fresh.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works so well! I bought this product a week ago now and I am already so impressed by the results. I have very oily skin around my t zone but this has cleared it right up. I usually have a new spot every day but now have only had one all week. Amazing product couldn't recommend it more!
Date published: 2020-02-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from More suited to oily skin I was really hoping that this face wash would work for my sensitive, dry skin, as it states on the bottle that it is suitable for all skin types. It smells great (fruity and foams nicely), however it did leave my skin feeling pretty tight a half hour later. I would avoid it if your skin is on the drier side like mine, and instead go for one designed for dry and sensitive types.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Ive had this for about a month and a bit and I haven’t had any breakouts of blackheads on my face. It smells great and isn’t harsh to skin DONT GET IT NEAR YOUR LIPS IT TASTES MANK AND DONT GET IT NEAR YOUR EYES IT STINGS BELIEVE ME !!
Date published: 2019-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! This is by far the best face wash I have ever bought. After a bad experience with the Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit Face Wash (do not buy!) which left my face even more spotty and oily than before, I started using this one instead. Within days my skin had cleared up and is now the best it has ever been.
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a wash that works on body acne! I've struggled for years with chest/back acne and tried so many different products and treatments that didn't work for me. I tried this product because of the active ingredient salicylic acid and after only a week of using once or twice daily, along with the clear and defend moisturiser, my acne has almost gone! it also smells fresh and has made my skin super soft!
Date published: 2020-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! I've been using this facewash for a while now, and it's rapidly becoming my holy grail product. It foams gently, strips oil but not moisture from your skin, and has a really nice 'fresh' scent - kinda like a bar of soap, but not as overpowering. My skin always looks clearer and less irritated after using it, even if my acne is bad.
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing wash I have always used this product and it works magic for me. My skin is very oily and prone to acne and spots. These immediately disappear once i use it. I have used a couple of Neutrogena products but the Spot proofing range works perfect for my skin.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REALLY WORKS Have been using the clear & defend face wash for about 2 weeks now, it really has helped my skin clear up, doesn't dry skin out & calms any angry spots down, has a lovely fresh but not over powering smell, I use this morning & night using 1 pump of the product per wash, well worth the money.
Date published: 2020-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for spot prone skin I have been suffering from mild acne and this product has been part of my journey. I have been taking medication as well as following a strict skin care routine daily both day and night. This Neutrogena facial wash completed washes all dirt off the face ensuring all dirt and residue is completely gone. I would use this every other day to ensure my face did not get completely used to the product. Was extremely effective in getting my mild acne to clear skin within 3 months.
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Face wash i bought this about a few weeks ago after reading so many good reviews so wanted to try for myself. i'm in my late teens and i get the odd spot every month. i used this for just about over a week and it really dried my skin out and never helped my acne. this might be because of my skin type so it might suit others. i'm now using simple moisturising wash and find it way better than other face washes I've used in the past, it also very quickly started to reduce the size of my spots and after about 2 weeks of using my skin looked much clearer.
Date published: 2021-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does this replace their spot clearing range? I bought this last week as I couldn't find the spot clearing range I had bought previously and it looked almost identical. Unfortunately it seems that this product doesn't have as much salicylic acid as the previous version. I'm pretty sure this is the main active ingredient and the old version had 2% salicylic acid. I'd like to confirm if this actually has less in as the 2% in the old version was the reason I bought it. It's surely less effective with a lower amount. It seems to have been replaced with some trademarked marketing bluff? Disappointing if that's the case as it's the same price.
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Neutragena product to date! I was sceptical when I tried this product as I've not had much success in the past with Neutragena products. This has definitely changed! Firstly the smell is lovely, I find some spot fighting products smell awful but this is a fruity smell so 10/10 for me on smell. It's also a great consistency, not too runny and not really thick like sun cream. It also doesn't foam up loads which is a bonus as you can see exactly where the product is going. I'm currently 20 weeks pregnant and suffering with bad skin, this product has really helped in reducing my breakouts but also clearly up any spots I have quickly. I could see a difference in a matter of days. I will definitely be continuing to use this product!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No spots. No dry skin. At first I was dubious about another face wash. I try so many but they always seem to dry my face out or I end up with alot of spots. However with Neutrogena Visibly Clear Spot Proofing Daily Wash I was pleasantly surprised. First off I noticed the smell, it was very neutral. This is great for me I like a soap or a wash to have a neutral smell nothing to floral or even smell of chemicals. I have used this face wash for a few days now. I can honestly say that I will continue to use this face wash. No spots. No dry skin. It true is the face wash for me. Love!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This seems to have really calmed my skin down from the spotty tantrum it was having. As other reviewers have noted, my skin does feel a bit dry after use but as long as I use a good moisturizer I'm fine.
Date published: 2018-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bit Drying but Effective Helped even out my skin tone, less redness and less breakouts. My face is a bit dry afterwards but nothing a little face cream can't fix AND my skin is less oily now even at the end of the day
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Used this at my dads house with its moisturiser a couple of times and my skin was just amazing I noticed the difference straight away!
Date published: 2020-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh and clean I have been using this product for a week now before bed to help get all my make up and other impurities off my skin. When I came to use the product it was in an easy pump bottle so no faffing with swirly lids or caps. The product is clear so it won't stain should it drip on the sink or your clothes. It left my skin feeling clean and refreshed and I haven't had any new blemishes since I've been using it. My only thought is that it left my skin a little bit tight but nothing a good moisturise can't sort out. Definitely doesn't taste good so don't get any on the lips or in the mouth but then I'm pretty sure it's not a mouthwash so... overall very happy, it does its job very well which is exactly what you want from a product.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not great smells really nice and it nice to use but it really dried out my skin, I have combination-oily skin but it still created super dry patches around my nose and made the rest of my skin so dry I would have to run to put moisturiser on immediately after. It also didn't do that much for my skin in terms of spots tbh, not great.
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely see a difference I have normal/combination skin and I use this once a day. It has reduced the appearance of my spots and this product really helped my back acne and made it less irrated and red. Personally, I haven't seen a vast improvement to my skin as it says it prevent breakouts, but I do still get them, but it has brightened up my skin, which is usually dull. Overall, I think it's worth the price and I would recommend this product for back acne.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for clearing spots I enjoy using this face wash as it does prevent spots and it smells really good. Although if you have dry skin then maybe avoid this, but I think this would be great for oily, spot-prone skin.
Date published: 2020-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great after 1 use my skin feels refreshed and soft and removed all my makeup effortlessly
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for spot prone skin After using this twice a day for 2.5 months and still having product left, I can safely say it does cleanse the skin, it does refine complexion without drying, it's light but it does not do the most important claim - prevent against breakouts. I don't see how it is targeted for spot - prone skin like mine. Did not help me at all. It's just a simple cleanser like any other with less claims. Will not purchase again.
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not amazing I was exited about getting this product as it has many goor reviews, however after some time of using it my skin became worse and more sensitive. I really wish this product worked for me but I guess not every product works the same for everyone.
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neutrogena visably clear. I have been using this product neutrogena visably clear spot proofing daily wash for a little over a week now and i must say i am impressed with it. I have tried many product to help with acne as i do get quite a few spots that are hard to clear up. The great points with this spot wash is it smells nice, leaves my skin feeling soft and i my face feels clean all day. If this is not enough it cleared up 98% of my spots and made my skin look healthier. I will recommend this wash to friends and family. Also will continue to use it myself.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad for long term Leaves skin feeling soft and clean but after a while skin starts to break out much worse than it did before
Date published: 2020-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neutrogena visibly clear I'll admit I was bit skeptical at first, most daily washes I have tried tend to dry out my face over time so I'll be honest I expected the same. I was really surprised how soft my skin felt after just one days use. Again I thought this was because it was the first day and my skin would eventually dry out with more uses. After seven days use I can say that this neutrogena daily wash has become and will stay as part of my daily routine. I'm even finding that I don't need to use moisturiser as part of my routine anymore as my skin is so much softer and looks cleaner. This was such an easy product to use and a little goes a long way. It takes two minutes which is great when your a busy mother to three children. It smells great and it feels lovely on your skin and not greasy which I have found others to be. I would definitely recommend this product to others. It has made my skin feel great and gives me one less thing to worry about.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Drying This is a good product although my skin has been getting really dry and flakey
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neutrogena is amazing I'm always very careful what I put on my skin due to sensitivity, but this is amazing, not only does it smell wonderful, it leaves my skin silky smooth and feeling exceptionally fresh, my skin is clearer fresher and feels incredibly clean, I would recommend anyone to try Neutrogena and see the results straight away, my skin is spot free, and haven't had any recent break outs, you have to try this amazing wash on your face, this will now be my go to face wash,
Date published: 2017-08-09
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_121
  • loc_en_GB, sid_6386, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_neutrogena-eu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 176.3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT